Skip to content

‘Three Great Versions of the Rubaiyat’

January 27, 2022

The author and poet Simon Gladdish has brought together several versions of the Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam under the title ‘Three Great Versions of the Rubaiyat’. In his Preface to the new book he writes as follows.

Here, as promised, are three great versions of The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam. The first is by the Victorian poet Edward FitzGerald. The second is by Robert Graves and the third is by John Heath-Stubbs. I have significantly improved the second and third versions by rhyming them both throughout. I think that it will be instructive and entertaining for the reader to compare all three versions and decide which one he or she likes best.

Simon Gladdish’s rhyming versions of the Graves and Heath-Stubbs editions were published separately in 2017 and 2019 respectively. Descriptions of them and the source material can be seen using the following link . Simon says ‘I have always wanted all three versions in the same volume’.

The new book is available on Amazon, both as a paperback and on Kindle. To buy, the paperback is £4.00, and the Kindle version is £1.99. One word of warning. The Kindle version that we received had some problems with the layout of the verses and pages. We hope that this may have been sorted out by now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: