Skip to content

Edward FitzGerald’s birthday today

March 31, 2015

efgyoungcutToday is the 206th anniversary of the birth of Edward FitzGerald.  We hope that all Rubaiyat enthusiasts will join us in marking the event in some way.  We owe him a great deal.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2015 8:30 am

    To my sorrow – and I should have know better – I forgot to raise a glass to Fitz on the day. My wife and I and a few close friends will now have to make up for it on May 18, Omar’s 967th birthday (for the precise claim, see my Omar Khayyam: Poet, Rebel, Astronomer, of 2007, a paperback edition of which should be coming out in the autumn). Before that, my wife and I hope to be at Boulge church on Sunday May 3rd, 3pm, to hear the Rt. Rev. Charles Mugleston read Fitz’s Rubaiyat. In the meantime, greetings to Sandra and Bill for keeping this website going. I’ll be getting in touch with them shortly. I hope they’ll also be at the Boulge gathering.
    Hazhir Teimourian,
    http://www.ConsolationsOfAutumn.com .

Leave a Reply

